House introduces bipartisan resolution marking the 125th anniversary of the NGFA

ARLINGTON, Va., Nov. 9, 2021 – The National Grain and Feed Association (NGFA) today announced that a bipartisan resolution recognizing the 125th anniversary of the NGFA and “celebrating the history and longstanding efforts of the Association and its members in transforming the American farmer’s bounty into safe, nutritious, sustainable and affordable human and animal food,” has been introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives.

NGFA, founded on Nov. 9, 1896 at the Saratoga Hotel in Chicago, has represented and provided services for grain, feed and related commercial businesses for 125 years. 

“NGFA is honored to be recognized in Congress for its 125-year history. This Association has been proud to represent the men and women of the grain, feed, processing and related industries and their critical role in the entire agricultural value chain and contributions to the U.S. economy,” said NGFA President and CEO Mike Seyfert. “We thank House Agriculture Committee Chairman David Scott, D-Ga., and Ranking Member Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson, R-Pa., and the 23 original cosponsors in the House for recognizing NGFA and its members and introducing this resolution.”

Senate Agriculture Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., and Ranking Member John Boozman, R-Ark., are expected to introduce a similar resolution in the Senate next week. 

Originally formed by 38 people as the Grain Dealers National Association, the NGFA has grown into the most diverse and all-encompassing agribusiness association in America, representing more than 1,000 member companies engaged in all sectors of the industry.

Earlier this year, NGFA announced the launch of its anniversary celebration with a series of initiatives to guide member engagement and the release of a new NGFA tagline – “Transforming America’s Harvest.”

The full text of the House resolution, H. Res. 775, is available here.

In addition to Chairman Scott and Ranking Member Thompson, the following members are original cosponsors of the resolution: Reps. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill.; Al Lawson Jr., D-Fla.; Angie Craig, D-Minn.; Tom O'Halleran, D-Ariz.; Tracey Mann, R-Kan.; Eric Crawford, R-Ark.; Cynthia Axne, D-Iowa; Sandford Bishop, D-Ga.; Jake LaTurner, R-Kan.; Ron Estes, R-Kan.; Ron Kind, D-Wisc.; Julia Letlow, R-La.; Randy Feenstra, R-Iowa; David Rouzer, R-N.C.; Jim Costa, D-Calif.; James Baird, R-Ind.; Luis Correa, D-Calif.; Abigail Davis Spanberger, D-Va.; Jim Hagedorn, R-Minn.; Glenn Grothman, R-Wisc.; Rodney Davis, R-Ill.; Austin Scott, R-Ga.; Matthew Rosendale, R-Mont.



The NGFA, established in 1896, consists of grain, feed, processing, exporting and other grain-related companies that operate more than 8,000 facilities handling U.S. grains and oilseeds. Its membership includes grain elevators; feed and feed ingredient manufacturers; biofuels companies; grain and oilseed processors and millers; exporters; livestock and poultry integrators; and associated firms that provide goods and services to the nation’s grain, feed and processing industry. The NGFA also consists of 27 affiliated State and Regional Grain and Feed Associations, and is co-located and has a strategic alliance with North American Export Grain Association, and a strategic alliance with Pet Food Institute.